My most anticipated games of 2017 (that came out before 2017)

There are already more great games than most people can conceivably play in a lifetime, and they just keep coming out. This isn’t news to anybody. Backlogs are a plague on gamers of all kinds. Ahead of next week’s highly anticipated Horizon: Zero Dawn, I’m taking a look back at some of the games on my shelves (both physical and digital) that have slipped through the cracks.

Some of these came out in 2016. Some before then. Some long before then. One entry aside, this isn’t a list of essential games I haven’t played and this isn’t a breakdown of my backlog (which is. In no particular order, these are the games I’m most looking forward to (finally) playing this year:

Dishonored 2

I started the first Dishonored when it came out in 2012. I loved what I played, but working 50+ hours a week on my feet and the impending end of the world (nice try, Mayans) pulled me away from it. I got back to it (in the form of the PS4 Definitive Edition) over the past few months, and holy crap did I fall in love with it. The world, the characters, the gameplay—everything about the game drew me in and blew me away.

Everything I’ve heard about Dishonored 2 says it’s even better, and this is easily at the top of my “must play” pile.

Watch Dogs 2

I didn’t love Watch Dogs like I loved Dishonored. Repetitive gameplay, bland protagonist, and horrific driving aside, though, I did enjoy it. Watch Dogs 2 is said to improve on all of my problems with the first, and that’s really all I needed from it.

Well, that and no drinking mini-games. Those were the worst.

Rise of the Tomb Raider: The 20 Year Celebration

I liked Tomb Raider as a kid. I loved Crystal Dynamics’ 2013 Tomb Raider reboot. I couldn’t wait for the sequel, but Rise of the Tomb Raider taking an extra 11 months to come to my console of choice kind of killed my excitement for it. That said, I still definitely want to jump into this supposed improvement on its excellent predecessor.

Ratchet and Clank

Not the original. Not the PS4 remake. Well, not just those. As a PlayStation fan, and a fan of platformers in general, it’s a little embarrassing that I haven’t played more than five minutes of the first game in the series.

 

I will never get through all of these.

Quantum Break

I loved Max Payne. I loved Alan Wake. Remedy seemed like a studio tailor made for me to follow blindly. Then Microsoft announced a game/TV show hybrid from Remedy that just didn’t sound like something I wanted to be anywhere near.

I’ve warmed up to the idea of it, though 20 minute breaks in gameplay still don’t appeal to me too much. Still, the game’s positive reception and Remedy’s past work keep this one on my radar of games to play.

Titanfall 2

The gameplay of the original Titanfall was a blast. It was enough to keep me playing a multiplayer game for about a week, which is about a week longer than I typically play multiplayer games, but the lack of a campaign or any form of single player made it drop off my radar in an instant.

Titanfall 2 has been on the receiving end of a lot of praise from critics and fans alike, with most of that praise coming for its supposedly excellent campaign. It sounds like the perfect game for me. It might be.

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

To be fair, I did start playing The Witcher 3. I hadn’t played the previous games in the series, but I’d been excited for this one since I saw the first preview for it. I popped the game into my PS4, stared at the install screen for a bit, and watched the opening cinematic sequence with an almost stupid level of excitement.

Then the game froze. It got stuck in an endless loading loop before I even got a chance to play, and I couldn’t bring myself to sit through that cinematic again.

Transistor

Truth time: I don’t even know what this game is about. All I know is that I loved Bastion and I loved what I played of Supergiant’s next game Pyre at PSX last year. Well, that and the fact that Transistor is currently installed on my PS4 thanks to PlayStation Plus.

Shadow Complex: Remastered

I never got around to playing Shadow Complex on Xbox 360, though I did pick it up (again, the backlog is another problem for another time). There were a lot of other great games at the time, with Batman: Arkham Asylum, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and Assassin’s Creed II all hitting in pretty quick succession. Man, 2009 was such a good year for video games.

I have to be honest: this is already more than I’m likely to get through in any given year. Especially when that year includes Horizon: Zero Dawn and Arkane’s excellent looking Prey. And I can’t forget to mention the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy.

That being said, what’s on your list of games that slipped through the cracks? Don’t be mad if I don’t respond, though. I might be a little busy replaying Arkham Asylum and Assassin’s Creed II

5 thoughts on “My most anticipated games of 2017 (that came out before 2017)

Leave a Reply

