Early thoughts on Horizon Zero Dawn

Horizon Zero Dawn, the latest PlayStation exclusive that’s sure to become a major franchise, launched yesterday on PlayStation 4. It’s great, and you should probably be playing. Guerrilla Games, in its first non-Killzone game in over a decade (second overall), has entered the upper echelon of video game developers.

This mini-post about my early moments with the game will be spoiler free. Largely because I’m barely far enough into the game to be through any spoilers, but also because I’m not a giant dick.

It’s far too early in my journey through the world and story of Horizon Zero Dawn to offer any substantial opinions. I’ve put in five and a half hours, doing as much as exploration as I could along the way, and the game just opened up. I don’t even know what new tasks and missions have opened up yet, but I know I’m hooked.

The gameplay is fluid and varied. The controls are tight and responsive. I haven’t really played with photo mode in games, but Horizon Zero Dawn could be the game to change that. It’s beautiful. Characters, environments, enemies—everything in the game is stunning. And this is just on a standard PS4 with a boring 1080p TV.

Also:

Horizon Zero Dawn

I can’t even imagine how gorgeous this would look with 4K and HDR. I haven’t put a lot of thought into those features before, but that’s all changing now.

The story is promising so far. It started out as a good, albeit predictable dystopian story. Then it got really good. Really, really good. I can’t wait to see where it goes next, and anyone who has any interest in video games, dystopias, the hero’s journey, or quality works of art should be right there with me.

To sum up: Horizon Zero Dawn is great. I’m loving my time with it so far, and I’m going to get back to it right now.

ps- seriously, play this game.

Leave a Reply

