Most anticipated games of 2017

I’d planned on doing quick looks/mini-reviews of this month’s PlayStation Plus games this morning, but there’s way too much Horizon Zero Dawn in my present and future for that to happen.

We’ve already taken a look at the games I’m most interested in that came out before this year, so let’s take a look at some games actually coming out this year now.

Day One Purchases

Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy

Twist: I never owned a Crash Bandicoot game. I played the first three and Crash Team Racing thanks to Blockbuster (RIP), though. Last year’s surprise Crash level (leaving it at that in case anyone’s still missing out), but I can’t wait to play the games from Naughty Dog’s Crash trilogy again. They’re looking great, too.

Middle-earth: Shadow of War

Shadow of Mordor was my game of the year in 2014. Its combination of two of my favorite recent series was destined for success: it’s hard to go wrong with Assassin’s Creed style exploration and combat lifted almost directly from Rocksteady’s Arkham series. The Nemesis System was interesting, but didn’t add much. Word is it’s been improved and applied to everything, not just enemies. Consider this one at 100% anticipation.

shadowofwar.0
Middle-earth: Shadow of War, WB Games

Prey

Arkane’s upcoming reboot of the Prey franchise looks amazing, and I’ve been sold on it since its debut trailer. I’m deep into a futile attempt at a media blackout, but the headlines and tweets that have slipped through make me want this game even more.

Tacoma

Gone Home hit me hard. Going into that one fresh allowed it to completely blow me away. I don’t know that Fullbright can top it with their upcoming Xbox One/Windows game, but I’ll be right there with them either way.

Very Interested

Guardians of the Galaxy: The Telltale Series

The Walking Dead was great before I got zombied out, but what really has me interested in GotG (aside from its can’t miss subject) is Telltale’s Batman series. That game showed them at their best, and I’m hoping GotG does the same. I’ll be waiting for the full series, though.

Pyre

The next game from Supergiant is looking good. Really good. It’s a high fantasy action RPG, and it has a ridiculously fun sports-based multiplayer mode. That’s more than enough for me, especially given their track record with Bastion and Transistor.

Super Mario Odyssey

Yes, Mario in a realistic world is what nightmares are made of. But Mario games, especially the 3D entries in the series, are usually no less than very good. I don’t expect to play this game in 2017, but this list wouldn’t be complete without it.

Tooth and Tail

I played this one at PSX, and I’m just assuming it’s coming out this year. It’s a bite-sized RTS with local multiplayer. It’s also easy to pick up and a blast to play. The price needs to be right, but I’m looking forward to this one.

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy

It’s new Uncharted. Not enough? It stars Chloe Frazer and Nadine Ross. Still not enough? You’re a liar.

What Remains of Edith Finch

I’m not convinced this one’s coming out any time soon, but its multi-layered story of a woman exploring her family’s lives and deaths is too intriguing not to include it.

Yooka-Laylee

I liked Banjo-Kazooie and Banjo-Tooie, and I just bummed myself out by realizing that was 20 years ago and I’m getting old and life is constantly slipping away from us and…

What were we talking about? Oh yeah. Yooka-Laylee looks like a cute, fun 3D collectathon platformer. Should be cool.

Probably won’t come out, but…

Whichever PS4 exclusive is up next: Days Gone, God of War, Spider-Man, Detroit: Become Human

Sony hasn’t had a big fall exclusive since 2013, and those were PS4 launch titles. I hope that changes this year, because there’s a lot on the way from first and second party studios that goes well beyond what I listed above and I’d love to dive into them as soon as possible.


There are a bunch of other games I’m interested in to varying degrees—Little Nightmares, Outlast 2, Call of Cthulhu come to mind—but these are the ones I’m most looking forward to.

What games are you looking forward to? What games am I a complete idiot for not including on my list? Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Most anticipated games of 2017

Leave a Reply

