Daylight Saving weekend recap

Daylight Saving Time is one of the dumbest things we just can’t seem to let go of. And not just because it made me lose an hour that could have been used for sleep or playing games or watching something or any number of other activities more fun than literally having time disappear in the middle of the night.

Here’s what I watched/played/did this weekend:

The Great British Baking Show

I said last week that there were three seasons of this delightful baking competition on Netflix. I’ve now finished those seasons and there’s a noticeable absence of pleasant competition in my life.

The show inspired me to (try to) bake a soufflé this weekend. I don’t know what the hell made me think I could handle that, but it’s safe to say it did not go well.

Trolls

Trolls movie one sheet
Trolls poster, 20th Century Fox

I love animated and family movies. Something about nostalgia and the need for wholesomeness every now and then and I don’t know… Anyway, there were four tiers of animated movies released last year: the great (Moana, Zootopia, Kubo and the Two Strings), the good (Storks, Finding Dory), the what the hell did I just watch (The Secret Life of Pets), and the “yeah, I think I watched that one.”

Trolls fits into that last category. It wasn’t bad—far from it—but it also clearly wasn’t made for adults to watch and enjoy on their own. It’s bright, playful, inoffensive, and oddly dependent on popular songs older than the kids it’s intended for. Still, it’s hard to go wrong with a cast that includes Anna Kendrick, Justin Timberlake, Zooey Deschanel, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, and Jeffrey Tambor.

Highlights: ‘Can’t Stop the Feeling!’ is a great song, and equating happiness to too much pizza rings true at any age.

Feel free to watch it if you have kids, but know it’s about 98% just for them.

Horizon Zero Dawn

Big surprise, right? I’m barreling toward the end, though I don’t necessarily want to. I’ve done all but one side quest and errand I’ve come across (barring the one I can’t complete yet) and I’ve explored most of the map, so I don’t think there are many more lurking in the wild. I’ve earned blazing suns at all hunting grounds, found all collectables, cleared all bandit camps and corrupted zones, completed all cauldrons, and defeated every type of machine on more than one occasion.

There’s not much more than finishing the story, which I’d guess I’m somewhere around two thirds through at this point. I’ll likely finish today, and I’ll definitely have a review up later this week. I know it’s still early, but I have no doubt saying Horizon Zero Dawn will be a strong contender for game of the year at the end of December. I’ve only had a couple small technical issues, and the gameplay and story have left nothing to be desired.

It’s still just as good as I initially thought. Maybe better.

Saturday Night Live

Another solid episode of SNL this week with two big takeaways: 1) Lorde is fantastic, and 2) Mikey Day is obviously being prepared for a promotion to full cast member. As far as I could tell, he featured in more sketches than any other individual cast member, and most of them were great.

I found the cold open a little too obvious and easy. Trump will/would be a disaster if and when tragedy strikes, but the segment didn’t really try to push farther than that. Mikey Day as an animal photographer on the receiving end of a series of unfortunate slip-ups was simple and enjoyable—and one of my favorite segments of the night.

The second to last segment was the other big standout. Beck Bennett and Kyle Mooney performed (as themselves, essentially) with the entire female cast and host Scarlett Johannson in a sketch they wrote for the female cast members while they participated in last Wednesday’s Day Without a Woman. It was a perfect encapsulation of mansplaining and an all too true example of dudes presenting as feminists while not actually caring about the female perspective or experience.

Most of the women had no lines, and Aidy Bryant and Scarlett Johannson were relegated to thanking the guys for saying things on their behalf. The women’s reactions as they had to listen to the guys go on and on (even when asking them direct questions) were the big draw here, and I’ll just embed the clip below instead of droning on about how great it was.

 

Lorde’s performance of two songs from her upcoming Melodrama was another highlight. Her performances of both ‘Green Light’ and ‘Liability’ were excellent, and I can’t wait for the full album. It should easily be among my favorites this year.

The Office (US)

I’m not exaggerating when I say I think I’ve seen every episode of the show at least a dozen times. And I’m easily sitting at 25+ for the entirety of the first five seasons. This show’s a classic, even if it probably should have ended when Michael Scott left Dunder Mifflin.

That was my weekend, which apparently had to end with writing a longer weekend recap than I have on any other weekend despite watching and playing fewer things.

What did you watch/play/do this weekend? What do I need to check out? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

