Most anticipated movies of (the rest of) 2017

I took a look at my most anticipated video games of 2017 a couple weeks ago. Now let’s take a dive into the movies I’m most looking forward to in the last nine(ish) months of the year. Covering everything I’m interested in would take way too long, so I’m just going to focus on the ones that could make me consider braving opening night crowds.

Barring any shifting schedules, here they are in order of release:

The Circle

Let’s run down the list of stars here: Emma Watson, Tom Hanks, John Boyega, Karen Gillan, Patton Oswalt, Bill Paxton, and more. This is a stacked cast, and it’s got a killer (and maybe painfully poignant) premise. I haven’t read the novel it’s based on yet, but I have no doubts this will at the very least be one of the most fascinating films released this year.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 poster
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Walt Disney Pictures

The first Guardians film, with its dynamic group, quippy banter, and excellent soundtrack, is miles ahead of the rest of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. This is a fact. Add tons of adorable Baby Groot to the (awesome) mix and you’ve got a movie that could easily be my favorite of the year if it even comes close to the quality of its predecessor.

It Comes At Night

100% honesty time: I’ve seen the trailer and made absolutely no effort to learn more about this movie. It just seems too creepy and atmospheric to ruin it by learning anything about it.

Dunkirk

It’s a Christopher Nolan film. That’s literally all I needed to know. He’s not a perfect filmmaker, but it’s tough to look away from even his weakest films. When he’s at his best, though, it’s cinema magic.

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

I thought Kingsman: The Secret Service would be ridiculous, mindless fun. To be fair, there’s nothing inaccurate about that. But it’s so much more than the sum of its parts; it’s a perfect storm of action, comedy, and Valentine’s Day counterprogramming. Everything about it worked, and I’m putting my full trust in Matthew Vaughn and company that the sequel will at least live up to its predecessor if not surpass it.

Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner is one of the greatest sci-fi films of all time. Denis Villeneuve is one of the most exciting filmmakers of the past few years.

Thor: Ragnarok

Thor’s solo films have been on the weaker side of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, though many, myself included, enjoy them. Ragnarok isn’t a Thor solo film, though. It’s a buddy road trip movie with Thor and the Hulk. I’m not saying I think it will be perfect, or even one of the year’s best films, but I simply can’t think of anything I’d rather see these two characters in.

Paddington 2

Yes, seriously. 2014’s Paddington is an unabashedly charming, clever family film. I didn’t see it until earlier this year, and I wish I’d seen it much sooner and many more times by now. It’s simply delightful from beginning to end. Anything even close to that will be more than enough to keep my interest and keep me coming back. Don’t believe me? Look at this guy:

Paddington 2
Paddington 2, A24

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The Force Awakens was great. Rian Johnson’s films are great. The Last Jedi will be great.

 


 

What movies are you looking forward to throughout the rest of the year? What have I left off this list that makes me a poor excuse for a human being? Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “Most anticipated movies of (the rest of) 2017

Leave a Reply

