Spring Break Weekend Recap

Spring break is a term that has absolutely no meaning for me, but my wife’s a teacher and she’s off work this week and I needed a name for this so…

I did some stuff this weekend. Some of it was enjoyable.

The Office

Yes, again. Still?

Either way, I’m already back up to the tail end of season five. Should I watch a different show instead of keeping The Office on repeat? Probably. (more on that coming later this week)

Will I? Doubtful.

Rocket League

Rocket League®
Rocket League, Psyonix

I hadn’t played Rocket League since the fall of 2015, the year in which it took over my life for a month and a half and kept me playing periodically for a while after that. Then I just kind of stopped.

I’d heard about new modes, but I’d never experienced them. Hoops, Dropshot, and the like are exactly as ridiculous as I would expect anything in Rocket League to be, which is a very good thing. I was never better than decent at Rocket League, and 18 months away has dropped me firmly into “not good” territory. It’s not exactly my kinda thing anymore, but there’s still a lot of fun to be had with it. If you somehow haven’t checked it out yet, it’s definitely worth a look.

Overcooked

Still playing. Still loving. About 2/3rds of the way through the story with three stars on everything and I still can’t recommend Overcooked enough. It’s easily the best couch co-op of last year, and it’s probably among the best of the past couple console generations.

Seriously, this game is amazing.

Assassin’s Creed (movie)

So. Yeah.

What would Assassin’s Creed be like without any of the joy or fun or sense of humor of the early games? It would be a painful, serious mess. And it would be this movie.

The Ezio trilogy was right there just waiting to be adapted, but… Okay, that’s all the time and energy I’m willing to let this movie take up.

Learn from my mistakes. Don’t watch it.

Saturday Night Live

SNL finally returned from hiatus with host Louis CK, who absolutely slayed in all of his appearances. If there was a problem with the episode, it was Louis CK’s opening monologue setting the bar too high for the rest of the show. It was gut-busting from the start and didn’t let up.

The rest of the show was full of clever writing and plenty of laugh out loud moments, but none matched the level of that opening monologue—except for the final sketch, in which CK and Kate McKinnon railed on Italians and broke character as a couple of Polish immigrants in 1913 New York. It was hilarious even without the breaks, but seeing how amused Louis CK was by all of it made it that much more enjoyable.

Louis CK’s other sketches, particularly the sectional non-ad and the birthday/murder party made perfect use of his persona. They were just sad enough to make me laugh out loud while feeling a little bad about it, which is what I’ve come to expect from Louis CK.

Other thoughts:

  • I’m getting sick of Alec Baldwin’s Donald Trump, probably because it’s too close to the real thing. He does a great job with it, it just doesn’t work for me anymore.
  • The behind of the scenes of the already infamous Pepsi ad was great, but it really raised the question of how the sketch’s content didn’t actually come up in real life. But it brought us a storm of social commentary and some comedy on SNL, so thanks Pepsi?
  • Weekend Update was solid once again, with the perfect balance of laughs and groans. Michael Che and Colin Jost forever.
  • I’d never heard The Chainsmokers before. I’ll probably listen to more of their stuff, which is more than I can say for a lot of musical guests on SNL and talk shows.


Still on the way:

  • I rented Silence and The Girl With All The Gifts over the weekend thanks to last week’s T-Mobile Tuesdays deal. So I’ll definitely be watching those sometime in the next ~30 days.
  • The Lego Dimensions Doctor Who Level Pack was on sale just about everywhere last week, so I have that now. It joins the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Story Pack in my LD backlog, though I’m sure I’ll get to DW first.
  • Dishonored 2. I will play you someday. I swear. I’m hoping to finish it before Arkane’s Prey comes out next month, but that’s just under four weeks away and only a few days removed from the fast approaching Nicholl Fellowship deadline. I’m not convinced it’s going to happen.

 


 

What did you watch/play/see/do/whatever this weekend? What did you enjoy? Hate? Feel insurmountable indifference toward? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

