A Switch™ed opinion

It wasn’t too long ago that I wrote about the reasons I wouldn’t be buying a Nintendo Switch. Um…

Yeah, about that.

I still don’t have a Switch. Yet. But it’s only a matter of time. There are two key reasons for this:

  1. People won’t shut up about Breath of the Wild and I want to experience the best possible version of it.
  2. I have a problem.

I honestly don’t know which reason is more of a deciding factor right now. I’m sure part of wanting a Switch is the same “there’s new technology and I must have it” mentality that put an underused Wii U and a barely used Xbox One under my TV. I didn’t pay anything even close to MSRP for those though, and they both had more than one game that interested me. But neither of those systems had the best version of a game the internet just won’t stop pushing on me.

I refresh Twitter: Breath of the Wild. I check Google Now: Breath of the Wild. I listen to a podcast: Breath of the Wild. Yes, these are all of my own doing, whether through my search history or the people and organizations I choose to follow. But nearly everybody within those circles is saying Breath of the Wild is one of the greatest games of all time or a new personal favorite of theirs, and it’s hard to not want to be part of the conversation.

Breath of the Wild will be largely the same experience in six months or a year or however long it takes me to cave in. It’ll be old news by then, though. Also:

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Nintendo

Come on, just look at that.

Moral of the story: I am a weak consumer who wants a game console for one game despite knowing it could very well become another regretted purchase. I’ve told myself there have to be at least three games I want to play that are best experienced on the Switch before I’m allowed to get it. We’ll see how long I can stick to that.

Do you have a Switch? Is Breath of the Wild in fact one of the best games ever? Please fill the comments with more praise for it and make this resistance even more of a challenge.

8 thoughts on “A Switch™ed opinion

  1. I have a Switch, and Breath of the Wild, and at the risk of dangling temptation at you, yes, Breath of the Wild is awesome, and yes, the Switch is pretty good too. I’ve never used a Wii U so I can’t compare the two systems, but if you have the money then a Switch is worthwhile. If you don’t, then my understanding is Breath of the Wild is virtually identical on the Wii U. Either way, it’s easily one of the greatest games of all time.

    Like

  2. […] The solution seems clear: get rid of the gaming hardware I’m not using and take a deeper dive into the minimalist lifestyle I’d love to embrace. Having less gaming hardware won’t make me less of a gamer, whatever that even means. It will make moving easier, though. And it’ll clear up my crowded TV stand. There’s another major benefit, too: selling all those systems might cover the cost of a certain other system. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

