Easter Weekend Recap

Whether you were celebrating holidays with family or sitting on a couch alone or anywhere in between, I hope you did some fun stuff this weekend. Here’s how I spent my time:

Allied

Allied poster
Allied theatrical poster, Paramount Pictures

I knew this World War II thriller/romance would be no less than good. It would be hard to miss that mark with Brad Pitt and Marion Cotillard on screen and Robert Zemeckis behind the camera. But it wasn’t just good.

Allied isn’t among the best movies ever made, but it’s a thrilling watch from its opening scene. Whether a scene’s about espionage action, romance between its main characters, or more likely both, everything in Allied is immensely watchable. That’s largely thanks to the talents of Pitt and Cotillard and the chemistry between them, but that alone would be enough reason to spend a couple hours of your time with Allied.

If you haven’t seen it, I definitely recommend checking it out.

The Office

Shocker. I know. Michael will be leaving Dunder Mifflin yet again the next time I throw this on Netflix. It still gets me.

Every.

Damn.

Time.

Overcooked

Specifically: The Festive Seasoning DLC. What better way to celebrate Easter than with Christmas/Winter holidays themed content? It’s not exactly winter anymore (not that it ever really was in LA), but a holiday is a holiday. Right?

It’s more Overcooked, which can only be considered a good thing. It would have been nice to have more trophies to go after, but it’s still a ton of fun even without meta elements.

Saturday Night Live

Host Jimmy Fallon was at his most Jimmy Fallon, which is exactly as good (and bad) as it sounds.

There were some solid segments this week, but even the high points of Melissa McCarthy’s Sean “Easter Bunny” Spicer and the always funny Weekend Update paled in comparison to last week’s Louis CK episode.

The standout moment for me: the two stingers at the end of the otherwise forgettable Savage Garden-themed post-breakup plea. The scene itself was fine, but the shots at United and Pepsi toward the end both made me laugh audibly. So there’s that.

Rocket League

Rocket League is never going to be something I consistently play again, but it’s a nice filler when I have a few minutes to kill and I can’t think of anything else to do. The one round I played this weekend was fun, but I wouldn’t mind having a different game to fill the time with at this point.

The Girl With All The Gifts

I’ll be reviewing this sometime this week, so I won’t go into too much detail here. For now, I’ll just leave at this: it was good. I liked it.

Kinda.

I haven’t read the book, so I can’t say for sure that it’s better. But that seems like a safe bet. There were just too many instances where pieces seemed to be missing to make this feel like a complete story. Still, it’s a different take on zombies, and it’s just interesting enough for me to recommend it.


 

Highlight of the weekend: Allied.

Coming up: I still need to start Dishonored 2. And hopefully finish it before Prey comes out. The Lost City of Z should be in theaters that aren’t insanely expensive this weekend, so I’m planning on seeing that. I still have that rental of Silence waiting for me, so maybe I’ll get to that soon too.

What did you see/play/watch/do/insert verb here this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

