A mid-week update

I started and stopped a few different posts this morning, but it’s time to admit it’s not happening today. A busy week is getting busier, and my limited energy and brainpower has all been claimed by other subjects. So here’s an update on what I’ve been up to (other than failing to avoid the Guardians of the Galaxy marketing onslaught):

The currently untitled post-apocalyptic fantasy horror screenplay

I’m up to page 65 of my current screenplay’s second draft. There have been a couple scenes that were just straight transfers, but this was definitely a foundation-laying first draft (that’s what happens when you don’t outline). I have some of the basics laid out for me this time through, but there’s still a lot of creation going on right now.

There are writers out there who can consistently pump out 10+ pages a day and not be completely drained. I don’t know how they do it. I hit that mark four of the five days I’ve been working on this draft and came up just short the other day. And I’m spent. I’m definitely more of a four to five pages kind of guy, but May 1 isn’t far away and I don’t have the luxury of taking my time.

Current status: I think I’ll have something that maybe resembles a decent screenplay in time. Maybe.

What Remains of Edith Finch

I took a bit of time off the insanity of writing/scrambling to play one of my most anticipated games of this year. It wasn’t high up on the list simply because I wasn’t convinced it was going to be out this year after hearing about it for what feels like half a decade.

It’s out, and developer Giant Sparrow blew me away. What Remains of Edith Finch lived up to exceeded every expectation I had. It’s spectacular, and it’s a close second behind Horizon Zero Dawn for my favorite game of the year so far. I’m hoping to have a proper review up later this week, so I’ll leave it at that for now.

Moving

Moving from LA to NYC brings up a lot of things. Jobs, living arrangements, and planning the trip across the country all take a lot of time and energy. So why wouldn’t I add getting a passport to the struggle?

I know it’s probably not that hard to do in most places, but the locations around here that take appointments are booked months in advance and I’ve read a couple horror stories about the place I’ll be going in a couple hours (one of two that doesn’t require appointments). But it would be cool to spend a little time in Canada and see both sides of Niagara Falls on the way, so it must be done.

I had a passport photo taken on Monday. It’s awful and I hate it and I’m probably obsessing over it far more than I need to (which would be not at all) since it’s really just something border guards/customs agents/stalkers will see.


 

How’s your week going? What have you been up to? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

