April-ending Weekend Recap

Submissions for the Nicholl Fellowship are due tonight, which means I spent 90% of the weekend writing and rewriting and torturing myself to ‘finish’ a screenplay without taking time away from it to be able to properly assess what was working, what wasn’t, and what could be done with the whole thing. But I submitted it shortly after midnight (nearly 24 hours before deadline!) and threw it into the mix for the Austin Film Festival screenplay competition too.

Tip: maybe outline in some detail before writing your first draft so your second draft doesn’t feel like another first draft.

Bonus tip: maybe don’t let yourself bounce between ideas for a couple months, giving yourself about six weeks to create with something you’re marginally happy with to submit for the most important screenplay contest in existence.

Anyway… here’s all the stuff I entertained myself with this weekend.

The Office

The cycle continues.

Frozen Free Fall: Icy Shot

I like Peggle. I like Frozen. This game isn’t as good as either of those properties, and I honestly kind of hate it (I deleted it just before starting this post). But it was a busy weekend for writing and I needed something small and mindless to stop the endless waves of negativity and self-criticism from rushing through my brain for a couple minutes at a time.

This did that. Kind of.

Overcooked

My wife and I made some more progress on the Festive Seasoning DLC levels, and Overcooked continues to find new ways to torture and punish us without ever losing its charm and fun.

Parks and Recreation

The Office is great, but you can’t spend all of your Netflix time on one show. That’s where Parks and Recreation comes in. Greg Daniels and Michael Schur (aka Mose) broke off from The Office and made something really special, even if it is pretty rough for the first couple seasons. I’d write more about how much I love this show too, but I was awake for 22 hours yesterday and I spent at least of 12 of them staring at my computer, obsessing over tiny details and I just can’t.

10 Second Ninja X

I finally decided to check out a PlayStation Plus game that I wouldn’t have played (and probably wouldn’t have heard about) without the service. Short gameplay bursts, at 10 seconds max, can be fun. Endless repetition to get the best time possible can be fun too. Sometimes.

10 Second Ninja X is very fast-paced, kind of fun, and definitely something I don’t expect to play again.

Pumped BMX +

You ride a bike down hills. You do tricks off and on ramps and rails. GarageBand placeholder music plays in the background.

The controls are good and the gameplay’s fine, but Pumped BMX + is missing just about all of the elements that made Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater (and to a lesser extend Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX) such a blast to play for hours on end.


 

Highlight: Overcooked, I guess. This probably would have gone to The Office, which is still a highlight of pretty much any time, if I’d made it past the early stages of season two over the weekend. Man, I love that show.

Coming up: Movie rentals I’ve paid for and need to watch: Silence, Brick, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and Elle. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 is a few short days away, and I’m struggling to come to terms with the fact that I won’t be seeing it until Saturday morning.

Prey comes out on Friday, so I’m planning on diving right into that. Assuming I can finish that in anything approaching a reasonable amount of time, Dishonored 2 will follow shortly after. Or maybe I should skip Prey for now and get started on my oppressive backlog


Any suggestions for me from your weekend of doing/watching/playing/reading awesome things? Let me know in the comments.

Bonus plea

Dear Activision,

If you do a proper remaster of the core THPS games, soundtracks included, you will have my money on day one.

Thanks,

Topher

Leave a Reply

