Early thoughts on Dishonored 2

I finally did it. After months of other things getting in the way, I finally started Dishonored 2. I’ve only played the tutorial and the first chapter so far, but I can already tell I’m probably going to enjoy this even more than the original Dishonored.

I’m not far enough into the game to have many thoughts about the story, but it’s showing a lot of promise early on. Betrayal. Tragedy. Magical abilities. A strong villain. Interesting characters in an interesting world. There’s more than enough here to keep me invested, and it’s only going to get better from here.

Dishonored 2, Arkane/Bethesda
Not cool. (Arkane/Bethesda)

On top of all that, Dishonored 2 feels just as good to play as the original. Maybe better. Controls are tight, movement is fluid, and traversal and combat are equally enjoyable. I’ll be playing through at least twice thanks to the choice of playable character, although at this point it feels like Emily is the ‘true’ protagonist of this story.

I’m going the High Chaos route first, and oh man does it feel awesome to run around and wreck shit. I actually enjoyed the stealthy approach more in Dishonored, so I’m really looking forward to going the Low Chaos/ultimate stealth route my second time through. Basically, Dishonored is great and I hope we get more of this franchise.

Dishonored 2, Arkane/Bethesda
Isn’t it pretty? (Arkane/Bethesda)

Dishonored 2 looks great, too. But who wouldn’t expect that given the beautiful art style of the original?

I’d love to write something longer today, but my brain’s still a little broken from saving a bit too much work for the last weekend before the Nicholl deadline… And I really want to keep playing Dishonored 2.

 

One thought on “Early thoughts on Dishonored 2

Leave a Reply

