Awesome Mix Weekend Recap

There was one obvious entry on this weekend’s agenda: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. I saw it. I loved it. There’s a full review coming at some point over the next couple days, but for now I’ll give a couple thoughts on that and go into all the other things I used to distract myself from reality this weekend.

Dishonored 2

I finished my first time through the game Friday afternoon, but I’m putting it on the Weekend Recap since it’s been a long time coming. I played as Emily in No Powers mode because it just felt right for the story, but I’ll be going back through at least one more time with Corvo in what will surely be a challenging no kill/no alert run. I’ll probably play it again after that because it’s just that much fun.

The Office

Is it a Weekend Recap if I don’t mention The Office?

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

I managed to get to the theater with what I consider as little knowledge about GotG Vol. 2 as humanly possible, and I’m glad I did. It was great to take everything in as surprise after surprise. The soundtrack was fun, the story was good, and the emotional impact was better. I loved it. It retained all the fun and humor of the first Guardians and added enough emotional resonance that it made me want to cry. A lot.

It’s not a perfect film, largely due to problems that have plagued the Marvel Cinematic Universe for years now, but the individuals on this team could fill my screens for years and I wouldn’t get tired of them. I’m still processing where Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 ranks in the MCU for me, but chances are it’s going to follow in its predecessor’s path and stand among my favorite movies of the year (if it doesn’t top the list).

Baby Groot in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
© Marvel/Disney

Yoshi’s Woolly World

My wife and I were in the market for a solid co-op experience that didn’t involve Legos. Yoshi’s Woolly World was disappearing from stores. It seemed like destiny. Or at least like a coincidence in timing. The game’s fun, the art direction is delightful (much like Kirby’s Epic Yarn before it), and the whole thing’s wrapped up in Nintendo charm.

Yoshi’s Woolly World has a lot of problems, though. I’m not convinced the game was really built for co-op. I’m already losing track of the times my wife’s character or mine has been reduced to a floating egg because one of us got too far away from the other—which occasionally includes movement forced by the game itself.

Saturday Night Live

Political/Trump segments took a back seat to ridiculous comedy, and SNL was better off for it. This weekend’s episode was among the best for pure laughs since I started watching the show again late last year.

Weekend Update is always a highlight, but Vanessa Bayer’s perfectly awkward weather forecast and Leslie Jones’ crab imitation segment took it to another level of laughs this week. The SWAT Recon segment was another major highlight, and I’m pretty sure we could solve all of the world’s problems by setting some time aside for cotton candy dance parties and backpack fashion shows.

Brick

I finally watched Rian Johnson’s debut film yesterday, and I loved it. I’d heard a lot of great things about this high school noir for a long time, but I didn’t realize just how heavily it leaned into film noir. The story and mystery were good, but the extremely heightened dialogue practically lifted from the mouths of Robert Mitchum and Humphrey Bogart take Brick to another level entirely.

Taking a hardboiled detective story and wrapping it up in the most hardcore suburban California high school in existence shouldn’t work, but it does. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays the detective with an edge role to perfection, and Rian Johnson’s tight, weaving script takes him from location to location and character to character with confidence and ease. Seeing where he started, it’s no surprise that Johnson helmed what will almost certainly be the biggest movie of the year.


 

Highlight: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. Nothing else stood a chance, really. The wait for Vol. 3 begins, but at least we’ll be getting a glimpse of the team before then.

On the way: I got Prey last Friday, but I’m pretty sure I won’t be starting that at least until I finish my second time through Dishonored 2. I’m really looking forward to it, though. I still have a couple rentals that need to be watched soon, so I’ll be watching Elle and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (which I somehow haven’t seen despite being a David Fincher fan) soon.

What was your favorite part of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2? Sure, there’s other stuff out there. But I think we all know GotG is the only thing worth talking about right now. Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

