The first Nintendo Switch games I’m going to get

I’ve had a bit of a roller coaster journey toward getting a Nintendo Switch. I resisted the idea for a long time after being kind of burned by the Wii U, then Best Buy gave me $100 for being a loyal customer or something like that. I continued to resist, knowing there would be better ways to spend that $100. But there weren’t.

I’m not really in the market for any new electronics at the moment, and the free money expires in 10 days—long before I could use it to buy a new TV after moving to New York. So it’s official: I’m going to be getting a Nintendo Switch in the coming days (assuming I can find a Best Buy in the area that has them in stock).

These are the first games I’m going to get for it:

Nintendo Switch blue/red
The neon is growing on me, but I think I’m sticking with gray. (© Nintendo)

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

Of course. The internet (still) won’t shut up about this game. I’ve already played a new entry on my list of favorite all-time video games this year in Horizon Zero Dawn, and almost everything I’ve seen and read about Breath of the Wild indicates it might be joining that list as well. I may not have the free time to really dive into it for the next couple months, but you can rest assured I’ll be playing as much as possible as soon as I get my hands on a Switch.

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

Mario Kart is always a safe bet. I didn’t play Mario Kart 8 as much as previous entries in the series, which I largely blame on the fact that I didn’t play my Wii U nearly as much as I played any previous Nintendo system. So this’ll be a bit of going back to a game I liked and a bit of playing something new (to me). Doing it with the definitive version of the game just makes sense.

Snipperclips

My wife and I are always on the lookout for new local co-op games, and Snipperclips seems like an obvious one to join the collection. Its art style is simple and inviting, and everything I’ve read about it makes it sound like it’ll be a great combination of challenging puzzles and co-op fun.

Tumbleseed

Tumbleseed may not be a Switch (or even Nintendo) exclusive, but that doesn’t mean I won’t opt to get it on Nintendo’s latest console. Giving up the opportunity for PlayStation trophies feels a little wrong, but I’m okay with it (more on that coming soon). Gaining HD Rumble support and the ability to play at home and on the go on the same device more than makes up for the lack of a trophy/achievement system. In other words, I’m finally understanding the real draw of the Switch.


 

That’s already more than enough to keep my wife and I busy for a while, but I’d love to get more recommendations. What other games should I pick up when I get a Switch? Let me know in the comments.

5 thoughts on “The first Nintendo Switch games I’m going to get

  1. […] Nintendo Switch Online is a step toward the console-wide parity and an industry standard even as Nintendo continues to do anything but the industry standard with many of its choices. It remains to be seen whether the service will be worthwhile, but setting the price (and expectations) low gives it a good chance of catching on. I know I’ll be subscribing, assuming I’ve found a Switch by then. […]

    Like

  2. I don’t have a Switch yet but plan to get one as soon as it’s in stock. But if you are into JRPGs, most notably something like Chrono Trigger, check out Cosmic Star Heroine. I’m currently playing on PC and it’s great. Heard a lot of good stuff about Thumper to

    Like

  3. […] On the way: I’ll be seeing It Comes At Night on Friday and hoping I can still enjoy a straight up horror movie. There’s a rental for The Red Turtle waiting to be watched and T-Mobile Tuesdays is going to make me feel obligated to rent a couple other movies this week. No idea which ones, though. I’m not quite ready to admit I won’t have time to play any games before I leave, so let’s say I’m looking forward to spending some time with Titanfall 2, Prey, or Breath of the Wild if my luck takes a turn. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

