Wonder Woman Weekend Recap

It’s June, which means we’re several weeks into unofficial summer and a couple weeks away from real summer. It also means the pre-move scramble to get everything packed/sold/taken care of is underway and I’m starting to lose it.

Here’s what I watched and played during the less crazy moments this weekend, which saw me once again fail to get a Nintendo Switch because I was at a movie theater when Best Buy opened.

Parks and Recreation

I may have watched a little too much Parks and Rec this weekend. I’ve gone from Leslie Knope beginning a city council campaign to merging Pawnee and Eagleton since Friday, or a little over two full seasons. No regrets, though, because this show deserves to be all up in everyone’s jazz.

Rings

I went in expecting to see a bad movie. I instead saw a horrible movie that briefly flirted with a couple cool ideas before immediately turning to the worst possible version of those ideas.

Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman poster
DC/Warner Bros.

There’s a lot to be said about Wonder Woman, but I’m going to save most of it for my review you’ll find here tomorrow morning. For now, I’ll just leave it at this:

Wonder Woman is fantastic. And incredibly important. It has some flaws, as all movies do, but it works pretty well for its whole running time and extremely well for most of it. Congratulations are due to director Patty Jenkins (and everyone else involved) for this historic blockbuster that put women front and center in front of and behind the camera. Here’s to hoping that glass ceiling is forgotten and we can see a lot more women get opportunities like this one.

WWE Extreme Rules

I don’t know if it’s WWE fatigue thanks to their seven hours of weekly TV or the post-WrestleMania, pre-SummerSlam lull, but I’ve been losing interest fast over the past month or so. It comes and goes, but there’s a pretty good chance I’ll be making WWE more of a background activity than a focus if things keep going this way.

Samoa Joe taking on Brock Lesnar at the terribly named Great Balls of Fire should be a nice fight, though.

Crazy Taxi Gazillionaire

There’s one guaranteed consequence of a WWE event that’s not doing it for me: I will find a new iOS game to play. Crazy Taxi Gazillionaire is fast, frantic, and definitely not something I’ll be coming back to. It’s great for people who like tapping their screens as quickly as possible, though.


 

Highlight: Wonder Woman, and it wasn’t even close.

On the way: I’ll be seeing It Comes At Night on Friday and hoping I can still enjoy a straight up horror movie. There’s a rental for The Red Turtle waiting to be watched and T-Mobile Tuesdays is going to make me feel obligated to rent a couple other movies this week. No idea which ones, though. I’m not quite ready to admit I won’t have time to play any games before I leave, so let’s say I’m looking forward to spending some time with Titanfall 2, Prey, or Breath of the Wild if my luck takes a turn.

What did you watch/play/enjoy over the weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

