E3 2017: Xbox One X and More

Xbox One X (The former Project Scorpio) has been talked about as the most powerful console ever for a while now. Power and performance are great, but Microsoft needed to come out swinging with games for Xbox One X to make a real impact. Did they?

Yes. Well, mostly.

Xbox One X
Xbox One X

Xbox One X Launches November 7 for $499

The Xbox One X is a box that will play video games. You may have heard that it is the most powerful such box ever created. Well, it is. It’s also the smallest Xbox ever made, which might be the more impressive part of it. Those are both parts of the three pillars of Xbox.

Power. Compatibility. Craftsmanship. (What about games?)

Teraflops was bound to be among the first words spoken on stage. Xbox One X has a lot of them. It also has a lot of buzz words/selling points, including True 4K gaming, HDR, and UHD Blu-ray. And it costs $500. So yeah…

Forza Motorsport 7 Has Cars

Including a real car most people watching will never be able to afford. Because nothing says video games like a Porsche on stage. Still, 4K at 60 frames per second is impressive no matter what, and the game looks like it should be a great experience for racing sim fans. I am not among them.

Microsoft Brings The Games

42 games were featured on stage during that conference according to Phil Spencer, 22 of them console exclusives on Xbox. That’s exactly what everyone (myself included) said they would need to do, and I’m glad they did it.

That’s a ton of games, though, so most of them are just going to be quick reactions. Don’t judge me if I miss a couple here.

  1. Metro Exodus (Not Exclusive)
    • This looks tense and challenging and probably depressing as hell. The previous Metro games are among the many I hope to get around to, and this new one just moved them a lot closer to the top of that list.
  2. Assassin’s Creed Origins (Not Exclusive)
    • I’m so far behind on Assassin’s Creed it’s tough to care about a new one. Origins looks and sounds cool (what up, RPG elements?), so it’s on my radar. Plus we got to learn that Eagle Vision came from an actual eagle, because of course it did.
  3. PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (Launch Exclusive)
    • This juggernaut I’ll probably never play is a huge get for Microsoft. The needlessly vague wording about exclusives continues, though. What exactly does launch exclusive mean? Exclusive for a limited period? True exclusive that comes out at the Xbox One X launch?
  4. Deep Rock Galactic (Launch Exclusive)
    • Something about shooting and rocks and deepness and galaxies. Am I close?
  5. State of Decay 2 (Exclusive)
    • Those animations looked rough—and that’s in optimized conditions. Doesn’t exactly instill hope for the game itself. Also, did we really need another straight-up zombie game? It looks good, though. Really good.
  6. The Darwin Project (Launch Exclusive)
    • This game looks cool, but that commentary was awful.
  7. Dragon Ball Fighter Z (Not Exclusive)
    • I’m going to be honest here: I didn’t even kind of pay attention to this.
  8. Black Desert Online (Launch Exclusive)
    • Okay.
  9. The Last Night (Launch Exclusive)
    • This is a bright and colorful Blade Runner like world coming to Xbox, and then coming to other platforms. I want to know so much more.
  10. The Artful Escape (Launch Exclusive)
    • Is this a super trippy playable rock opera? If so, cool.
  11. Code Vein (Not Exclusive)
    • Anime + Vampires = a pretty cool looking game, apparently.
  12. Sea of Thieves (Exclusive)
    • We got an extended look at Rare’s shared world pirate game. It looks good, but it’s definitely not my kind of thing.
  13. Tacoma (Launch Exclusive)
    • August 2! Hell yes.
  14. Super Lucky’s Tale (Console Exclusive)
    • There aren’t enough bright, cute platformers on Xbox (seriously), so I hope this one’s good. It looks pretty plain, though. We’ll see.
  15. Cuphead (Console Exclusive)
    1. September 29. It’s about damn time Cuphead got a release date.
  16. Crackdown 3 (Exclusive)
    1. Well this sure looks… different. It better just be Terry Crews yelling at players 100% of the time.
  17. We got quick flashes of a lot of games that I wouldn’t exactly call ‘showing them,’ but I guess it counts. I probably missed one or two and got some titles wrong. I’m sorry. I’m sure some of these are exclusives, but I’m not even going to try to guess which ones. Yes, even Fable.
    1. Osiris New Dawn
    2. Raiders
    3. Unruly Heroes
    4. Path of Exile
    5. Battlerite
    6. Surviving Mars
    7. Fable Fortune
    8. Observer
    9. Robocraft Infinity
    10. Dunk Lords
    11. Minion Masters
    12. Brawlout
    13. Ooblets
    14. Dark And Light
    15. Strange Brigade
    16. Riverbond
    17. Hello Neighbor
    18. Shift
    19. Conan Exiles
  18. Ashen (Launch Exclusive)
  19. Life is Strange: Before the Storm (Not Exclusive)
    • I will take whatever Life is Strange Square Enix will give me.
  20. Middle-Earth: Shadow of War (Not Exclusive)
    • I saw all I needed to see when pre-orders went up. Shadow of Mordor came out of nowhere to be my game of the year back in 2014, so saying I can’t freaking wait is one hell of an understatement.

Minecraft Is Uniting Across Platforms

That’s cool, I guess.

Ori and the Will of the Wisps Is Going To Break Me

This looks phenomenal. It’s visually gorgeous and it’s almost definitely going to be emotionally damaging. I really need to get around to playing Ori and the Blind Forest, because this one looks like it deserves to be a day one purchase. I’m already preparing to cry myself dry within minutes.

Seriously.

 

Original Xbox Backwards Compatibility Is Huge

How is it even possible? I don’t want to hear the undoubtedly complicated explanation, but this is a big deal even though many players (myself included) will probably never use it.

What’s up, Sony?

Anthem Looks Wonderful

Visually, it looks spectacular. Its gameplay looks like it should be fun. The promise of a hostile world is incredibly intriguing. But as someone who doesn’t play a lot of multiplayer and definitely doesn’t have a group to play with, it’s not for me.


 

Microsoft continues to play it fast and loose with the word ‘exclusive.’ Still, this is exactly the kind of show they needed to have. I’m not convinced I need an Xbox One X to enjoy any of the games they showed today, and I have no intentions of buying one. I’ll definitely be checking out several of the games shown here, though, and there are just enough true exclusives for me to keep my Xbox One around. And maybe even upgrade it to an Xbox One S.

I’ll be back tonight with my thoughts on Bethesda’s hilariously late press conference for anyone on the east coast or in Europe. For now, what did you think about the Xbox press conference? Are you planning on getting an Xbox One X? Let me know in the comments.

4 thoughts on “E3 2017: Xbox One X and More

Leave a Reply

