E3(ish) Weekend Recap

This was a busy weekend—and it would have been even without the first few E3 press conferences. The move to New York is less than three weeks away, meaning it’s pretty much scramble time. This weekend’s moving related activities included: reaping the benefits of IKEA’s incredible return policy, selling a car, and buying what is simultaneously too much and definitely not enough bubble wrap.

Throw in three E3 press conferences this weekend (read my thoughts on the EA, Microsoft, and Bethesda conferences if you’d like) and you’ve got a recipe for a weekend pretty limited on entertainment.

And oh yeah, I bought a Switch yesterday (and all four games I said I’d get). I haven’t been able to play much yet, but I already love it. Here’s everything I watched and played that didn’t involve E3.

Friends

This show is the comfort food of television. It doesn’t take much brainpower to watch, but it’s always worth it.

And how great is the “Morning’s Here” guy?

 

The Girl On The Train

The book was a fun read, but the movie was anything but fun. I didn’t think it would be possible to turn a relatively interesting mystery novel into an absurdly boring, slog of a movie, but I guess anything’s possible.

Snipperclips

Varied, intuitive, and charming, Snipperclips has been a blast so far. Not to mention there’s always room for couch co-op in my life—especially when it’s as enjoyable as the brightly-colored, simple yet challenging Snipperclips.

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe
Mario Kart 8 Deluxe (Nintendo)

I’ve had Mario Kart 8 on Wii U for a while, but I’m finally getting into it now that I have it on Switch. I don’t know if it’s the improved performance or the fact that the Switch is able to fulfill the dreams and promises of the Wii U, but it’s just so much more enjoyable the second time around.


Highlight: Things going smoothly—between the ease of returning a couch 9 months later, the simplicity of selling a car, and the luck of getting a Switch at a Best Buy that opened an hour earlier than every other one, I have to give the nod to good fortune in general. But since that’s a total non-answer, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe.

On the way: Those rentals for The Red Turtle and my second viewing of Get Out are still out there, and I’d love to watch Beauty and the Beast again. I feel obligated to play Tumbleseed today so I won’t feel too bad if Nintendo announces some kind of E3 eShop sale tomorrow. And of course there’s Breath of the Wild now sitting a few feet away from me and threatening to consume my life.

What did you see/watch/play/do this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

