Father’s Day Weekend Recap

Full disclosure: Thanks to the magic of scheduled posts, this post was written on Thursday, June 15. I booked a Friday-Monday camping trip at Yosemite National Park a few months ago, but it wasn’t hard to know what I was going to be playing during this weekend’s quieter moments.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

This game is as close to perfect as all the hype made it seem. Its post-apocalyptic story is interesting, but I’ve spent more time simply getting lost in Breath of the Wild‘s world and climbing every surface imaginable than actually advancing the story. Or even trying to advance it. It’s almost too easily to get distracted when you can do just about anything. But I love it for that.

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

Racing and battling are always going to be fun, even when things go completely wrong. A handful of shells (both red and blue, because of course) team up with lightning and every other problem imaginable to knock you from first to fifth in the closing stretch. There’s nothing quite like Mario Kart, and MK8 Deluxe just might be the best version of it released so far.

Snipperclips

Snipperclips is charming and fun, and it’s not showing any signs of letting up. Its puzzles have been imaginative and varied so far, and it’s a nice game to have around for quick bursts and breaks from the bigger titles. Its levels don’t take much time to complete, but their tendency to make me want to go straight into the next one has threatened to keep me playing it a few times now. And that would be fine.


 

Highlight: The cheat answer is the ability to play console quality games on the go—which really is amazing. I’m loving the Switch so far, and I can only imagine it’s only going to grow from here with games like Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle, Super Mario Odyssey, and Yoshi coming over the next year or so. Real answer: Breath of the Wild. This game is incredible, and I’m still dozens of hours away from finishing it. Assuming I can ever pull myself away from exploring its world long enough to finish it.

On the way: The Big Sick comes out Friday, and it could easily be among my favorite movies of the year if it’s as good as its trailer promises. I picked up Firewatch and Telltale’s Guardians of the Galaxy on sale last week, but there’s not much chance of me getting to them before moving. Plus, there’s a hell of a lot more Breath of the Wild to play.

What did you watch/play/do this weekend? Any movies I should check out now that I’m back in the world of packed streets and smoggy skies (for a few days, at least)? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

