First Days of Summer Weekend Recap

As you may have read, I’m moving to New York. In three days. I’m still not finished packing, so it’s safe to say this weekend was a little light on time to really engage with entertainment. Life finds a way, though, and I still managed to enjoy a few things over the weekend.

Bill Nye Saves the World

The first season of Bill Nye’s Netflix show was a hit or miss affair, with even the most enjoyable episodes having some segments that seemed like they were trying way too hard to be entertaining. And many of the segments felt at odds with others, with helpful, open-minded discussion and interpretation placed next to condescending tones and attitudes that aren’t going to change anybody’s mind or do any good a little too often.

Parks and Recreation

My wife and I are making our way through from the beginning again, which means the show we’re currently watching only slightly resembles the show we (and many others) fell in love with. Only a few episodes remain until Ben Wyatt and Chris Traeger arrive in Pawnee, though.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

I’ve finally advanced through the story a bit—I found the first fairy fountain and unlocked the first few memories—and quickly returned to running across landscapes, fighting new and revived enemies (I think I hate the Blood Moons), and generally getting lost in the game’s breathtaking world. I’ve found a few Korok Seeds, but I can say with absolute certainty I will never 100 percent this game.

Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives

I’m definitely not a Guy Fieri fan, but I like food and I wanted to justify the continued existence of my Hulu subscription, so this happened. And of course I saw a burger so disgusting it made me want to avoid food for a long time, so I guess maybe I can still lose some weight and it won’t really matter that I haven’t had time to work out lately.

The Big Sick

The Big Sick poster
The Big Sick (Lionsgate/Amazon)

My review of the movie will be up tomorrow, but here’s a quick summary of my thoughts:

The Big Sick is the best movie of the year and then some.


 

A lot of these were background noise and rest break filler, but there was still enough time for some seriously enjoyable content this weekend.

Highlight: The Big Sick. No contest.

On the way: With the move coming in three days, all I know is I’ll still be able to play games thanks to the Switch. It’s safe to say there’s more Breath of the Wild and Mario Kart 8 Deluxe in my near future. Barring any unforeseen issues, I’m going to the premiere of The House tonight. Beyond that, Spider-Man: Homecoming is the next movie I can say I’m definitely seeing.

What did you see/watch/play/do this weekend? Let me know in the comments so I can have a long list of things to catch up on once I get settled in New York.

Leave a Reply

