Looking Back At Q2 2017

We’re halfway through 2017, which means it’s time to take another look at my progress for my entertainment-related goals for the year. The goals are:

  1. Watch 100 movies, at least one each week (never watched before)
  2. Play and finish at least 15 games already in my collection (never finished before, played is okay)
  3. Read 26 books (never read before)

You can check my initial update from March here.

Movies

I’m still on track when it comes to movies, currently sitting at 51 new movies watched since 2017 started. I’ve even managed to keep up the at least one per week rule. It’s close, though. 1-25 are from January through March, and 26-51 are new additions to this list.

  1. Hell or High Water
  2. Manchester By The Sea
  3. The Secret Life of Pets
  4. A Monster Calls
  5. Bad Moms
  6. Southside With You
  7. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  8. Deepwater Horizon
  9. Hidden Figures
  10. Don’t Think Twice
  11. Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising
  12. Moonlight
  13. Storks
  14. Fences
  15. Paddington
  16. The Lego Batman Movie
  17. Captain Fantastic
  18. XX
  19. Hacksaw Ridge
  20. Get Out
  21. The Edge of Seventeen
  22. Logan
  23. Trolls
  24. Beauty and the Beast
  25. Power Rangers

Since then, I’ve watched:

  1. Sing
  2. Assassin’s Creed
  3. Collateral Beauty
  4. Allied
  5. The Girl With All The Gifts
  6. Nocturnal Animals
  7. Silence
  8. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  9. Brick
  10. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
  11. Elle
  12. Baywatch
  13. The Crow
  14. Rings
  15. Wonder Woman
  16. Fist Fight
  17. Unbreakable
  18. Split
  19. Push
  20. It Comes At Night
  21. Sisters
  22. The Girl On The Train
  23. The Red Turtle
  24. Baby Driver
  25. The Big Sick
  26. The House

I’m sure I’ll clear 100 movies this year, and it shouldn’t be too hard to keep up at least one per week. Which is good, because things aren’t looking great when it comes to my other entertainment goals.

Video Games

And here’s where things start to fall apart. I’ve played a few more games in the second quarter of 2017, but not much progress has been made in terms of my actual goal for the year, which was to make a significant dent in my oversized backlog of physical games. Here’s my Q1 progress:

  1. Lego Dimensions
  2. Dishonored: Definitive Edition (started in 2016)
  3. Teslagrad (PlayStation Plus)
  4. Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack (PlayStation Plus)

Since then, I’ve played (and finished):

  1. Dishonored 2
  2. 80 Days

I’ve played a lot more games (and finished a few), but this is it when it comes to the goal of finishing games I already own. I’ve finished games ranging from The Witness to Lara Croft Go to What Remains of Edith Finch. I put a ton of time into Horizon Zero Dawn before finishing it. My wife and I battled our way through Overcooked. But none of those meet my criteria.

Of the six games I’ve finished this year that I already owned (or “owned”), only three are the physically owned/full/AAA games I meant. So things aren’t looking great here.

Here’s the list of all the games I’ve played this year, just because.

  1. Lego Dimensions
  2. Dishonored: Definitive Edition
  3. The Witness
  4. Lara Croft Go
  5. Capitals
  6. Teslagrad
  7. Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack
  8. Reigns
  9. Starwhal
  10. Horizon Zero Dawn
  11. Disc Jam
  12. Woah Dave
  13. Exploding Kittens
  14. Bit City
  15. Overcooked
  16. Card Thief
  17. Frozen Free Fall Icy Shot
  18. What Remains of Edith Finch
  19. Dishonored 2
  20. Yoshi’s Woolly World
  21. Star Wars Puzzle Droids
  22. 80 Days
  23. Fallout Shelter
  24. Crazy Taxi Gazillionaire
  25. Mario Kart 8 Deluxe
  26. Snipperclips
  27. Tumbleseed
  28. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

I’m already not sure I’m ever going to finish Breath of the Wild, and there are plenty of games coming out in the second half of the year that will be competing for my time—and I’m not sure I’ll even have the time for those. Needless to say, I’m not confident in my ability to achieve this goal.

Books

Absolute failure incoming. As of the end of March, I had read two books this year. As of the end of June, I have still read two books this year. Those books are:

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
  2. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

I’ve started a couple other books since then, namely A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab and The Circle by Dave Eggers, but I haven’t even come close to finishing one. It’s tough to find time for all the interesting entertainment out there when a lot of my free time goes to my own writing and this blog, and books have kind of gotten lost in the shuffle.

This one seems destined for failure—two books in the first half of the year followed by 24 in the second half is ridiculous, even for me.


 

I’ll be back early next week to go over my favorite movies and games released so far this year. Until then, what have you watched, played, and read this year? Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “Looking Back At Q2 2017

Leave a Reply

