(Not Quite) 4th of July Weekend Recap

I spent the majority of this weekend driving across a big (but not big enough) chunk of the United States. That means a long time on even longer stretches of asphalt cutting between seemingly endless deserts, fields, forests, and farms. Some of it was pretty. Most of it was mind-numbing.

I didn’t get a chance to dive into anything new, a couple podcasts aside, but the Nintendo Switch continued to make a strong case for its place at my side over the weekend. Check out what I watched and played this weekend, then let me know your list in the comments.

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe
Mario Kart 8 Deluxe (Nintendo)

A few Grand Prix races. A few battles. All at campsites at two different National Parks. The game is great, and the ability to play it anywhere and everywhere is even better. I’ve still barely even scratched the surface.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

My interest in the game is starting to wane, so I only got through a single shrine and a little bit of exploration this weekend. Make no mistake, Breath of the Wild is excellent. But it just isn’t pulling me in like it did in my first few sessions with it. I’ll still be playing it going forward, but it’s far from a priority at this point.

The Little Mermaid

There’s a reason The Little Mermaid started the Disney Renaissance and led the studio’s animation division through some of its best years: it’s absurdly good. Its straightforward story is elevated by memorable characters and songs that still rank among some of the best to come out of any Disney movie. But you probably don’t need me to tell you how great The Little Mermaid is.

Shark Tank

Sometimes you watch weird things when you’re in a hotel on the edges of suburban civilization. I can’t say I enjoy watching people pitch businesses to extremely wealthy people, but it passed the time.


 

Highlight: Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, but The Little Mermaid made it a little tough to choose.

On the way: Spider-Man Homecoming comes out Friday, so of course I’ll be seeing that this weekend. I have digital rentals for My Life As A Zucchini, Before I Fall, and The Zookeeper’s Wife just waiting to be watched. I’m planning on watching Okja as soon as I can get Netflix through a TV again.

I picked up Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy this weekend, and I can’t wait to dive back into these games I haven’t played in nearly 20 years, that incredible Uncharted 4 surprise aside. Another pickup: Puyo Puyo Tetris, another multiplayer Switch experience I think my wife and I are really going to enjoy.

And I won’t have time for any of it over the next week.

What did you watch and play this weekend? Let me know in the comments—along with all the new stuff I’ve been missing.

2 thoughts on “(Not Quite) 4th of July Weekend Recap

    • I watched (and loved) the first three seasons. The rest of it is just out there waiting for me to watch it, but there’s so much other stuff that’s more important to me right now. Maybe someday…

      Like

Leave a Reply

