The Movies And Games I’m Going To See And Play This Month

The first few days of July have been a little rough on my entertainment habits. I’ve spent the majority of the past few days driving along endless stretches of farms, fields, and mostly uninhabited patches of land in the middle of the United States. It’s a little soul-crushing, especially when it zaps all your energy and makes the thought of doing anything at the end of the day a cringe-worthy experience.

There are already a lot of things I’ve missed, this year and previously, but July has enough coming out to keep me busy on its own (even if I were just trying to watch and play things and not also find a place to live in New York).

It’s going to be fun. Here’s what I’m looking forward to, in chronological order:

Spider-Man Homecoming

Spider-Man Homecoming poster

First up is Spider-Man Homecoming. Obviously. Tom Holland proved himself as Peter Parker in last year’s Captain America: Civil War, and everything I’ve heard about his debut (mostly) solo outing promises the best version of your friendly neighborhood webslinger. I’m starting to wonder if seeing the best version of my favorite superhero might be able to top Guardians of the Galaxy for me, and I honestly think it has a chance.

A Ghost Story

A Ghost Story looks like it could be one of the weirdest, most unique movies to come out this summer—and probably this year.

War for the Planet of the Apes

Rise of the Planet of the Apes was very good. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes took it to another level, going darker and getting better in the process. War for the Planet of the Apes looks like it’s going to continue this trend and be the best movie in what has surprisingly turned into one of the best blockbuster series in recent memory—and it might simply be the best.

Dunkirk

Christopher Nolan. Those two words were all I needed to know I was going to see this movie opening weekend. I haven’t decided if I’m willing to double the price of a normal ticket to see one of the 70mm IMAX screenings, but my gut is telling me it’s something I need to do.

Pyre

Supergiant’s Pyre is (thankfully) the only game coming out this month that has my interest. I loved what I played at last year’s PlayStation Experience, and I can’t wait to sit down with it—although previously planned events and adult responsibilities might delay my time with it. I’m going to be doing everything in my power to get to it as soon as possible, though.

Atomic Blonde

Action. Ass kicking. Charlize Theron. James McAvoy. John Goodman. Half of the directing team behind the excellent John Wick. This is a perfect storm of action movie bliss, and I can’t wait for it.


 

What are you looking forward to watching and playing this month? Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “The Movies And Games I’m Going To See And Play This Month

Leave a Reply

