An Early Look At End Of The Year Lists

I took a look at my favorite movies and games so far in 2017 earlier this week. Who’s ready for some wild speculation about the currently unreleased movies and games that could find their way onto those lists before the year’s over?

At the halfway point, 2017’s top movie and game of the year seem locked in for me. The Big Sick is a special movie, a perfect combination of comedy, drama, emotion, authenticity, and originality. Horizon Zero Dawn has a massive world full of possibilities—and one that I can (and did) get lost in repeatedly. Its story never even came close to losing me, which happens with most open world games at some point.

In both cases, I don’t expect anything else coming out this year to dethrone what’s already there. But top ten (and five, and whatever) lists exist for a reason. Here’s what I think might end up on my lists in just under six months:

Movies

Spider-Man Homecoming

Yes, it’s out today. But I won’t be able to see Spider-Man’s latest big screen exploits until Sunday, so Homecoming makes the list.

War for the Planet of the Apes

Everything I’ve seen about War looks incredible, and everything I’ve read from people who have seen it seems to confirm that it is.

Dunkirk

Is this looking a little too much like yesterday’s list? July seems stacked with movies made for me to love them, and Christopher Nolan’s latest is no exception. The

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Kingsman: The Secret Service was pure fun that didn’t let up. The Golden Circle looks like it’s going to be the same with just enough changes to make things feel fresh. That might be all I need.

Blade Runner 2049

Blade Runner is a masterpiece. Denis Villeneuve has made a handful of excellent movies over the past few years. That’s enough to make this a contender, but the content released so far makes it even more likely.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

It’s Star Wars. Written and directed by Rian Johnson. I don’t need to say anything else.

Downsizing

Weird concept? Solid cast? Consistent Oscar contender behind the camera? Downsizing has it all.

If all of these movies are actually contenders for my favorites, making that (completely unnecessary) end of the year list is going to be tough. That’s not even considering the other movies I think I’m really going to like that could surprise me and throw themselves into contention.

Games

Pyre

I have absolutely no idea what the single player part of Pyre is going to be like, but the multiplayer is a blast and there’s no reason to doubt that Supergiant would let me down when it comes to the campaign.

Tacoma

Gone Home was something special when it came out a few years ago. It still is. I don’t really think Tacoma is going to be able to hit me the way Gone Home did, but it just wouldn’t feel right leaving Fullbright’s next game off this list.

Agents of Mayhem

By Saints Row 4, Volition’s series had become pure, unadulterated insanity. Agents of Mayhem looks like it’s going to take that insanity to another level entirely, and that’s all it needs to do.

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy

Every core Uncharted game released so far has been my game of the year. The Lost Legacy obviously doesn’t have everything those four games had, but there’s still a chance that Chloe and Nadine’s adventure could blow me away just like Nathan Drake’s adventures did.

Super Mario Odyssey

Odyssey might be the most ambitious Super Mario game ever made. It didn’t even need the ambition to make it a contender. It’s been more than 30 years since the series started, but Super Mario continues to be a mainstay among my year-ending favorites thanks to its consistently excellent gameplay and visuals.

Assassin’s Creed Origins

The present day story sections of the early Assassin’s Creed games were always my favorites, but the changes Ubisoft has shown so far the the series’ return makes it seem like the past portions might actually match that enjoyment. Will Origins be batshit crazy like some of those plot twists and developments? Probably not. But here’s to hoping.


 

I’m sure there’s more I could love coming out this year, but these are the ones I think could easily be among my favorites. What movies and games are you looking forward to for the rest of the year? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

