Web-Slinging Weekend Recap

I had a long week of driving, so this weekend had my body on autopilot as my brain struggled to function properly. A lot of my time went to walking around Brooklyn and being overwhelmed by the rental situation in the nicer parts of the city. I knew prices were high and places were small, but I somehow had no idea how high the prices could be considering how small the places are. Nearly all of my remaining time was spent sleeping in various locations throughout the Airbnb my wife and I are staying in, but we found a little time for entertainment.

My Life As a Zucchini

Charming, funny, adorable, heartbreaking, uplifting, and multi-layered—My Life As A Zucchini isn’t like other animated films. Its characters are unique and memorable, and its stop-motion work is top-notch. Coming it at just over an hour, there’s no reason not to check out this excellent movie that earned a well-deserved Oscar nomination earlier this year.

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Spider-Man Homecoming 09
Sony/Columbia
Tom Holland is undoubtedly the best big screen Spider-Man we’ve seen. Homecoming, his debut solo film, plays more like a John Hughes movie for modern audiences than a superhero blockbuster at times. And that’s a very good thing. Peter Parker trying and failing to do his daily activities because he desperately wants to be called into action by Tony Stark again provides many of the movie’s most memorable moments. The superhero stuff was good too, though, and Michael Keaton’s Vulture is probably the best villain in the MCU, not to mention among the best superhero movie villains ever.

My review will be up over the next couple days, but I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and definitely recommend it to even a passive fan of Spider-Man or the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It’s far from a perfect movie, but it does a lot more right than wrong.

Friends

Is there a better show to watch while hanging out in New York than one about six people hanging out in New York? Probably. But I still enjoy Friends even after losing track of how many times I’ve seen its episodes, so I’m going to keep watching it.

WWE Great Balls of Fire

Kinda. I woke up a few minutes before the show started and watched the first two matches (which were okay). Exhaustion took over shortly after and I decided it wasn’t worth trying to fight it. It’ll probably take me a couple days to get around to the rest of it, but it had a solid card and I’m sure there were some good matches in there.


 

UPDATE: My sleep deprived state made me forget a couple things.

Highlight: My Life As A Zucchini. Spider-Man: Homecoming is good and probably would have won most other weekends, but Zucchini is special.

On the way: War for the Planet of the Apes looks great. A Ghost Story seems like something I’m going to love. I’m not really in a video game kind of place right now, but I’ll probably get back to Mario Kart 8 Deluxe and Breath of the Wild soon.

What did you watch, play, and do this weekend? How much did you like Spider-Man: Homecoming? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

