It’s Time To Get Off Work On October 27

This year’s E3 was full of highlights, among them the fact that October 27 became one of the most stacked release dates ever within the span of a couple days. There was already more than enough coming to keep anyone busy, but Netflix wasn’t content to let video games rule the day, announcing yesterday that the new season of Stranger Things will be releasing on October 27 as well. And let’s not forget that it’s a Friday, so movies are joining the fray too.

Let’s be real here: there’s too much coming out to possibly tackle it all in one day. What’s the best order to tackle the best/busiest day of entertainment in recent memory?

Stranger Things

Stranger Things season 2 poster
© Netflix

Netflix released this poster yesterday and instantly claimed October 27 from all of the video games coming out that day. The first season of Stranger Things was a perfect storm of intensity, intrigue, and suspense, and it’s one of the only shows in recent memory to get me to drop everything and watch the whole thing within a few days. There have been other shows I’ve loved, but I’ve found myself pulled away for one reason or another long before finishing. That wasn’t the case with Stranger Things, which guarantees its next season is my number one entertainment priority regardless of its competition on release.

Yes, Stranger Things will be around whether you watch it right away or not. But the experience simply can’t be the same if you’re not ready for the first wave of discussions and editorials that are bound to hit shortly after release.

Super Mario Odyssey

Super Mario Odyssey
© Nintendo

You can only resist New Donk City and your almost guaranteed possession at the hands of Mario’s sentient, maniacal hat for so long. Nintendo’s showing at E3 looked great, and I haven’t bothered to look at any of the new content that’s been popping up on gaming sites since then. I’m going to play this game, and I’m going to play it (almost) as soon as possible. I suggest you do the same.

I won’t finish this before diving into some of the later items on this list, but starting it is definitely a priority.

God Particle

The next Cloverfield movie looks like it’s going to offer a new take on the ‘crew trapped in space’ movie, with the vanishing of Earth playing a major role in the setup. The premise was enough for me—honestly, knowing JJ Abrams was comfortable calling this the next Cloverfield movie after last year’s excellent 10 Cloverfield Lane was enough for me.

They’re keeping this one wrapped up tight though, considering we’re about three months from release and there’s not even a poster yet. Still, I’m planning to make this one of the first things I do after finishing up Stranger Things season 2.

Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus

Wolfenstein II The New Colossus
© Bethesda

Machine Games’ latest game looks absolutely insane in the best possible way. I still have to play The New Order and The Old Blood, but The New Colossus remains high on my to-do list for the last weekend in October.

Assassin’s Creed Origins

Assassin's Creed Origins
© Ubisoft

The latest entry in the Assassin’s Creed series is taking things back to the beginning while also reimagining what the series can be. Origins packs some newly-added RPG elements into the action and combat, along with an eagle companion. The game looks great, but new information about possible present day storylines and/or glyph puzzles along the lines of those in AC II or Brotherhood would shoot this a lot closer to the top of the list.

As it is, this is feeling a lot more like a game I’ll get around to than a game I feel the need to jump on as soon as possible.

Thank You For Your Service

Thank You For Your Service poster
© Universal

I’m not 100% sold on this one. Jason Hall is unproven as a director and this one could risk retreading the same ground covered by American Sniper. Still, a movie about PTSD starring Miles Teller is hard to say no to after his gripping performance in Damien Chazelle’s excellent Whiplash a few years ago.

Jigsaw

Jigsaw poster
© Lionsgate

It’s tough not to be curious about the next chapter in the Saw franchise, despite the fact that it hasn’t really been good since the original 2004 movie and arguably hasn’t even been watchable since the first sequel in 2005. I just… I can’t even explain the morbid curiosity that’s making me want to watch this. I know it’s not going to be good, and this is an easy skip on and around October 27. But it’s still drawing me in…


 

That’s my recommendation. How are you planning on tackling one of the most stacked release dates ever? Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “It’s Time To Get Off Work On October 27

Leave a Reply

