Thoughts on the 2017 Emmy Nominations (from a guy who doesn’t watch much TV)

I’ve written before about the lack of TV shows in my life. Time is limited and there’s a lot of TV out there and blah blah blah…

I didn’t need Emmy nominations to make me feel like I’m missing out on a lot of great content. I didn’t need to see which shows are supposedly the best of what’s out there. I lost count of all the shows I want to watch a long time ago and I’ve come to terms with knowing I’m never going to watch some of the greatest shows ever made. But this is the internet, so of course I’m going to write about the Emmy nominations—though I’m going to limit it to the top level.

 

Best Drama Series

Stranger Things
© Netflix
  • Better Call Saul
  • The Crown
  • The Handmaid’s Tale
  • House of Cards
  • Stranger Things
  • This Is Us
  • Westworld

My failures as a fan of entertainment are immediately obvious. I watched (and loved) the first season of Stranger Things last summer. Consumed might be a more accurate word, because I got wrapped up in everything it had to offer almost instantly. I can’t wait for season 2 in a few months, and I’m elated to see both David Harbour and Millie Bobby Brown get nominations for their performances.

Beyond Stranger Things, I’ve seen: one episode of This Is Us (which is definitely not for me), tons of ads for House of Cards and The Crown, seemingly endless tweets about The Handmaid’s Tale and Westworld, and the first season of Breaking Bad, which I believe is just like actually seeing the currently nominated show.

My (meaningless) vote goes to Stranger Things by default.

 

Best Comedy Series

Atlanta
© Fox
  • Atlanta
  • Black-ish
  • Master of None
  • Modern Family
  • Silicon Valley
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
  • Veep

My track record with comedy is (slightly) better than drama. I’ve seen every episode of Black-ish and Modern Family at least once. I’ve seen the majority of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (though only two episodes from the current season), and the first episode of Master of None (which I loved, but clearly not enough).

Of the three, Black-ish stands at the front of the pack. This season had the show’s strongest episodes, and I declared several times throughout the middle of its season that it was consistently the best half hour on network TV. That didn’t last long, though, and the show settled back into being good rather than great. Modern Family peaked a long time ago, though it does still have some high moments, and I was so bored by the first two episodes of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt‘s current season that I haven’t been able to bring myself to go back to it.

As for the others: Everything I’ve seen and read about Atlanta makes it seem like a show I’m going to love—just knowing Donald Glover was behind the series was enough to sell me on it. I just have no idea how to watch it until the first season eventually pops up on Hulu. Silicon Valley is absolutely something I need to watch, and I plan on doing so as soon as I will myself to get some form of HBO subscription. Kumail Nanjiani’s among the stars of Silicon Valley, though, and I’m tempted to say it wins just based on the pure excellence of The Big Sick. That’s how these awards work, right? Veep‘s a mainstay in the category and it won the last two years, so maybe that’ll win?

I’m pulling for Atlanta, because who needs to actually see something before forming an opinion on it?

Best Limited Series

  • Big Little Lies
  • Fargo
  • Feud:  Bette and Joan
  • Genius
  • The Night Of

I’ve heard of four of these. I’ve seen none of them. I’m giving the edge to Big Little Lies because I’ve heard the most about it. Would there be a better reason?

Best TV Movie

  • Black Mirror: San Junipero
  • Dolly Parton’s Christmas of Many Colors: Circle of Love
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
  • Sherlock: The Lying Detective
  • The Wizard of Lies

People like Black Mirror a lot, so I’m going to defer to said people on this one. I haven’t even heard of three of these


 

One other thought before I wrap this up: Netflix is slowly but surely taking over. Hulu showed up at this year’s nominations with The Handmaid’s Tale, but Netflix has five shows nominated between the drama and comedy categories. That’s more than HBO at the top level of nominations, and the streaming giant leads everyone but HBO in overall nominations. HBO itself isn’t really even a standard channel anymore, and it feels safe to say we’re past the tipping point of streaming taking over the TV landscape.

All this year’s nominations did was continue to pound into my brain my need to carve out some time in my schedule for TV shows, especially considering a lot of these shows are several seasons deep at this point. And this isn’t even considering other widely acclaimed shows that weren’t deemed worthy of nominations: The Americans, The Leftovers, American Gods, and probably others I’m forgetting.

Which shows do you hope take home awards when the Emmys air in September? Which shows should have gotten some love? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

