Winter Is Coming Weekend Recap

It would be a stretch for me to say that I have any element of my life even remotely figured out right now. My wife and I learned pretty quickly that we really don’t want to live in New York City, which makes the decision to pack all our stuff up and head there questionable at best. But it’s cool. This is just an opportunity for adventure, right?

We’ve still been in Brooklyn for the last ten days because Airbnb doesn’t exactly make life easy all the time. We’ve done some exploring of a couple boroughs, but we’ve also found time for some entertainment in our lives—which is of course what this post is about. Click through for the movies/shows/games/whatever that were part of my life over the past few days.

As part of my problem with peak TV, I’ve only seen the first season of Game of Thrones, so it’ll be a while before I get to experience what I’m pretty sure the rest of the world experienced last night.

Personal Shopper

Personal Shopper

So, uh, what? This was more of a display of increasingly frustrated texting habits than anything else. The supernatural elements promised by the film’s marketing took a backseat to the small journey of a character whose journey it was hard for me to care about since everything was so vague and possibly intended to be close to incomprehensible.

It’s safe to say I didn’t care for Personal Shopper. Kristen Stewart gave a strong, dedicated performance, though. So at least there’s something here.

Some iOS soccer games that aren’t worth knowing by name

I get that iOS developers need to have ways to make money off their games if they don’t charge for them. But why does almost every soccer game resort to completely unmasked pay to win tactics or excessive, unavoidable ads? Anyway, I played a couple of them that were okay but definitely not worth the baggage they bring.

Friends

It’s too bad we never got the Friends spinoff we deserved. You know, the one featuring Craig Robinson’s clerk and his government coworkers as they get into wonderfully boring situations.

Yeah, I’d watch that.

Go

As a longtime Scriptnotes listener, I figured it was finally time for me to watch host John August’s first produced feature. Watching this set of interconnected stories veer between believable and absurd was a pretty good way to spend my Sunday night, though the team of Vudu and Chromecast did everything in their power to prevent it from happening.

The Office

It was just a matter of time before I slipped back into my old habits. But I guess there are far worse things I could be into than watching one of the best sitcoms of all time on Netflix.

Highlight: It’s a total cheat since I saw it Friday morning, but War for the Planet of the Apes was easily the entertainment highlight of my weekend considering I was thinking about it (by choice and by chance) throughout most of my downtime this weekend. I’ll have my review up tomorrow, but for now you just need to know it’s good. Really good. And maybe you need to go see it if you haven’t already.

On the way: Dunkirk is just a few days away, and I’m planning on seeing it in 70mm IMAX. I’d like to see A Ghost Story, though that’s starting to look like it’s going to slip through the cracks. I’ve still got a few rentals to knock out (including The Zookeeper’s Wife and The Nines), and Google and T-Mobile keep adding to that list. And of course I’m still trying to motivate myself to watch GLOW after really enjoying the first two episodes last month.

What did you watch, play, and enjoy (or not enjoy) this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

