Comic-Con Weekend Recap

Quick personal life update: I lost all interest in living in New York City after spending a few days there. The quick summary on my life as of today is that mistakes have been made and it looks like I’m going to be living in Maryland for the next year or so. But hey, at least now I know that LA is absolutely where I want and need to be right now. That’s a positive, right?

With that, let’s move on to the entertainment. We all know that’s what really matters anyway.

The Office

I will never stop enjoying this show.

Trailers from San Diego Comic-Con

Not exactly the typical Weekend Recap content, but this is a blog/lawless wasteland. Quick thoughts on the biggest trailers:

  • Thor: Ragnarok looks like a lot of fun. It’s been a good year for the Marvel Cinematic Universe so far, and I’m glad to see it looks like that streak is going to continue.
  • Ready Player One isn’t doing a lot for me right now. I don’t really know anything about the book, and its nostalgic elements in the trailer aren’t quite hitting home for me. But it’s a big budget Steven Spielberg sci-fi adventure. I don’t see how that can be anything but a good thing.
  • Stranger Things season 2 needs to be in my life right now.
  • Bright still seems like a risky bet as Netflix’s first big budget film. Training Day with a fantasy twist is definitely an interesting idea, but I’m not convinced a world already plagued with dark and gritty takes on various ideas needed an original, dark and gritty fantasy story. But I hope it’s great.
  • Justice League is definitely a movie. I’ve never read a DC comic and my only experience with the DCEU is Wonder Woman, so most of this trailer didn’t really do it for me.
  • I know there were a lot more trailers, many of them probably very good, but I only have so much time. Feel free to yell at me for not watching the trailer for [insert title here].

The Nines

John August’s directorial debut is a good, strange piece of entertainment that fell short of putting its pieces together in a satisfying way. I don’t regret spending 100 minutes with the movie, but that’s about all I can say about it.

About an hour of WWE Battleground

Life gets in the way of a lot of things sometimes. WWE Battleground was no exception this weekend. I was able to half-watch the first three matches (NEW — DAY ROCKS!), but the rest of the show will probably end up split throughout the rest of the week. It was really nice of WWE to give the underdogs John Cena and Randy Orton the chance to compete in the two biggest matches on the card, though. I’m really looking forward to seeing what those guys can do.

Kevin Hart: I’m A Grown Little Man

I’ve seen Kevin Hart in several movies at this point, but this was my first time watching any of his standup. In case you’re unaware, this guy is hilarious. It’s safe to say I’ll be watching more of his standup specials as soon as I can.


 

Highlight: Kevin Hart. Laughing is fun, especially when it’s hard to do. And that’s exactly what I needed this weekend. That Stranger Things season 2 trailer is a close second, though.

On the way: Pyre comes out tomorrow, but we’ll have to see if I actually have time to play it. I don’t think I will. On the movie side, I still have a rental for The Zookeeper’s Wife staring me down. Life has joined it there, and three more rental credits plus a Redbox credit mean I have more on my plate than I can possibly hope to get to. And Atomic Blonde looks like a blast, so I’m really hoping I can get to a theater to see it this weekend. And maybe I’ll get caught up on Game of Thrones. Not soon, but maybe sometime.

What did you watch/play/enjoy this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

