End of July Weekend Recap

I would’ve loved to be playing Pyre all weekend, but I somehow managed to not get a chance to play it at all. Here’s what I did watch and play:

Friends

I was disappointed by the amount of content that got cut in the transition from DVD to Netflix for Friends, but seeing the show on TV in a hotel gave me a new appreciation for what did make it through. I’ll probably always enjoy Friends, but it seems like syndication is intent on making the show and unenjoyable as possible with its constant removal of jokes to fit more ads in.

The Office

I appreciate the later seasons more and more as my times through the show gets deeper into double digits. There are definitely some weak points in there, even before Steve Carell left, but even the worst episodes of The Office are still pretty damn good. If you somehow still haven’t watched this show, fix yourself now.

World Series of Poker on iOS

Poker is kind of fun. Digital poker takes a lot of the fun out of it, even if there are people on the other end instead of AI players. It’s enjoyable enough, but it’s not exactly exciting to play poker and know there’s no possibility of winning any money regardless of how well you do.

The Zookeeper’s Wife

There are a lot of good World War II movies out there. A great one—Dunkirk—is still fresh in my mind. The Zookeeper’s Wife focuses on a very different part of the war, with its entire running time taking place in and around the Warsaw Zoo in Poland. The events depicted in the movie are tense and thrilling. The movie’s depiction of said events doesn’t quite match up.

The Zookeeper’s Wife isn’t bad and I don’t regret spending a little over two hours with it, but that’s all there is to it.

Daddy Long Legs

Is there anything better than a game in which the controls are almost actively working against the player?

Yes. A lot of things are better than that. Daddy Long Legs is still an enjoyable way to waste a little time, though. And that’s exactly what I wanted from it.


 

Highlight: Uh… The Office? That always seems like a cop out, but I just love this show so much.

On the way: Digital rentals currently awaiting me on various services: Life, Gifted, and Raw. I still haven’t gotten around to Okja. I’m hoping to get to theaters for Atomic Blonde and Detroit this week too. It’s also about time to really try to get through those Marvel Netflix shows so I can dive into The Defenders right away.

On the gaming front, Pyre is sitting on my PS4 just waiting to be played. And of course there’s the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy I picked up on launch almost exclusively hoping it will somehow lead to a remaster of the original Spyro the Dragon trilogy. Add in the ongoing saga of moving and everything that goes along with it and I’ve got one hell of a week lined up.

What did you watch/play/see/do this weekend? Let me know in the comments. Just try not to rub it in too much if you were playing Pyre.

Leave a Reply

