The movies and games I’m going to watch and play in August

The summer movie season is winding down and the fall gaming season is getting an early start. There are several big releases in both categories coming over the next 31 days, and these are the movies and games I’m planning on spending some time with.

Movies

Detroit

Yes, I know Detroit had a limited release last week. But it doesn’t go wide until Friday and I’m seeing it today (which, as you know, is part of August), so it makes the cut. Kathryn Bigelow’s latest looks like a tense, devastating trip through history that absolutely needs to be seen.

The Dark Tower

I haven’t read any of the novels in The Dark Tower series. I know, I’m a failure as a human being. But the movie looks great and its 95 minute runtime is much less daunting than the eight novels it takes inspiration from. I’m hoping for a decent sale on the Kindle books so I can power through them before seeing the movie (even though I know there’s exactly no chance of that happening), but I’ll be seeing the movie over the next week or so regardless.

Wind River

Taylor Sheridan’s previous films (Sicario and Hell or High Water) are tense, thrilling stories made for adults in a cinematic landscape that doesn’t have a lot of those types of movies. I can’t say I enjoyed either film, but neither of them are quite like anything else that’s come out in recent memory.  Wind River, Sheridan’s directorial debut, looks like it could be his best yet. The premise alone pulls me in more than either Sicario or Hell or High Water.

The Glass Castle

I don’t know much about The Glass Castle outside of its first trailer and its star-studded cast (Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, Naomi Watts and more), but I don’t need to know more. This story of a dysfunctional family looks like it’ll be interesting at the very least, and that combined with the quality of the cast is enough to get me there.

Logan Lucky

Steven Soderbergh’s latest looks like it’ll be a fun couple hours. Sometimes that’s enough.

Games

Tacoma

The search for semi-permanent housing has prevented me from connecting my Xbox One to a TV for the last month. The duffel I was using to transport my game systems broke while I was in Niagara Falls and crashed to the ground Xbox One first. Basically, I don’t know if/when I’ll be able to play Fullbright’s latest game. It’s among my most anticipated for the year, though, so I’m really hoping I’ll be able to get to it sooner rather than later.

Chances are it won’t happen this month, but I just can’t leave it off this list.

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy

It’s new Uncharted. Do I need to go on?


 

There are other games I’d like to spend some time with, namely Matterfall and Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle, but I don’t expect to get around to them anytime soon. There are tons of other things to keep me busy in the mean time anyway.

What are you looking forward to this month? Let me know in the comments.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

