One thing The Dark Tower’s release has done for me

The Dark Tower is getting torn apart in its reviews and, more importantly, the content of those reviews lets me know it’s not exactly something I need to rush out and see. It’s slipped from “must see in theaters” to “will watch when I can get a cheap rental” territory. Having read almost nothing of the series, I’m sure I could see it and enjoy it enough. But I’m not going to do that.

I’ll be honest: I knew almost nothing of Stephen King’s The Dark Tower saga prior to learning there was a movie on the way last year. Since then, I’ve learned little else about it. I knew the people who loved it really loved it. I knew it was occasionally ranked among the best works of an author whose bibliography is unmatched by any other currently working, and probably ever. That’s a lot of praise, but it wasn’t enough to get me to dive into its thousands of pages at the expense of watching movies or playing games, which I already don’t do as much of as I’d like.

Things are different now, though.

I know now that The Dark Tower is a sprawling adventure set across different worlds with more going on than could ever possibly be fit into any one movie (let alone one that’s just over an hour and a half long). And I know it sounds like something I am absolutely going to love.

So this week’s seemingly disappointing adaptation has accomplished arguably the most important thing: it’s pushed me over the edge on reading the books. It’ll be a while before I’m able to work my way through the eight books in the series, and probably before I even start unless a sale pops up soon, but I can’t wait to pick up the whole series and lose myself in the world and lore of The Dark Tower.

And then I’ll watch the movie and join the ranks of all those wishing for what could have been…

 

Leave a Reply

