A new TV (and other thoughts of the day)

Late post today, and probably a short one too. My wife and I are half-moved into our new place, which basically means what little we have with us is set up but the majority of our stuff is still in U-Haul’s possession and will be for a while. There’s been plenty to fill the time, though. More than enough. Here’s a bit of insight into it.

My wife and I picked up a new TV today—a Sony 55X900E. It’s incredible, and easily the best TV I’ve ever owned. It’s only been set up for a few hours and I’ve only watched one movie on it (Colossal, which I loved—more on that tomorrow), but it’s great so far. I don’t actually have any 4K content to watch on it in my possession, or a player capable of handling 4K Blu-rays until I upgrade my Xbox, but the upscaled stuff I have watched looks phenomenal. I’m hoping to find some time for a few PS4 games soon to at least see the HDR do its thing.

There’s a flip side, of course: we had to set up new cable and internet. And that means we’ve had to deal with Comcast, aka one of the worst companies any human could ever have to deal with, more in the last 24 hours than we had to deal with Time Warner/Spectrum in the year we had them. I have no idea why setting up a basic plan requires half an hour in a store and two separate 20+ minute phone calls, but that’s where we are. And of course we don’t even have the HD package we specifically requested. I don’t even want to get started on the fact that it’s significantly less expensive to have cable you don’t want or care about than just have internet access.

Again, Comcast is the worst.

And that’s my life right now. I’ll be back tomorrow with a review of Colossal, hopefully at a more normal time. Until then, feel free to sound off on your own issues with Comcast (or your ISP of choice) in the comments below.

Oh yeah, please check out/follow @uninformedrevs if you haven’t yet. It’s dumb, but it’ll only throw a single tweet into your timeline each day (more on Fridays).

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A new TV (and other thoughts of the day)

Leave a Reply

